I’m Losing It!

Here’s a brief update on my weight loss situation. I’m losing it! That is a good thing. I am losing it far slower than previously, but loss is loss.  I hit 204 pounds a couple of weeks ago, and due to both an injury and perhaps more laziness than I care to admit to, I have gained back a couple of pounds. I am still at a lower weight than I have been in many years.

Part of the problem is that I am not following the diet recommendations as closely as I had been. I know what I have to do, and I will get back at it. Surgery for my shoulder in a couple of weeks, and a very short recovery if the tear is as small as the surgeon thinks it is. Hopefully my hip is doing its own repairs with the help of my Chiropractor and gentle stretching exercises. I am 46 pounds away from my goal of 160 pounds. I could realistically lose that weight before Thanksgiving.

Human nature is a funny thing. I know what I need to do. I want to do it. But those other things look good too! Beer, or weight loss. Bread, or weight loss. Name your desired somewhat unhealthy food or behavior, or weight loss. In reality it isn’t that simple. You don’t have to, nor should you deprive yourself of good things totally. But that ugly, no good, horrible, terrible discipline thing pops up. Yes. I have to bow to discipline.

Back to the Evolv diet. No sweeteners added to my food. No alcohol.  No grains for a couple of weeks, then certain grains added back in. I’ll be able to eat a lot of protein, some fat and pretty much as much vegetation as I want. The biggest problem is trying to come up with tasty, sweetener free versions of dressings and other condiments. A stir fry without sauce is worse than boring. Eventually, I will be able to have the things I enjoy in moderation. But I also have to find food and drink that doesn’t make my mouth sad, and is good for me.

If you’re trying to lose weight, or just improve the way you feel, you can do it. For most of us the formula is simple; it’s all about what you eat, how much you eat and how much you move.

One thought on “I’m Losing It!

Leave a Reply

