A Little Sausage That Packs A Punch!

IMG_2029

As you start to meet other bloggers (virtually) interesting things begin to happen. I’ve now met several people through my blog who live in countries I’ve either lived in or spent time in. Romania is one such place. I actually spent more time in Moldova, but my heart beats for both countries. Some day I’ll write about my almost yearly drives from Munich to Petrovca, Moldova. For now, I just want to talk about a mighty little sausage.

Mici (pronounced Meech) is a skinless sausage, spiced with ground cumin, thyme, allspice and garlic. Literally, mici means, “little ones.” Traditionally, it is grilled over hot coals, or you can pan fry or bake them, but it just isn’t the same. For my version, I chose to smoke them at 275 F over alder, cherry and apple woods. I chose the smoker because my grill is not functioning at the moment. I just kept checking them for doneness, and then just before they

Mici, also called Mititei (pronounced meaty-tay) is like our good old American hot dog, in that it is fast food. It’s the food you take with you on a picnic. Just like the average American can’t imagine a cookout without hotdogs and hamburgers, neither could the average Romanian imagine the cookout without Mici.

The first place I tried mici was in a small city in Romania, on the way to Moldova. I don’t know the name of the town or the restaurant, but I do have a photo of a statue that stood in a square across the street from where we ate. These were my partners in crime, Rory and Glenn. We were on our way to Moldova to help teach English to children at a camp for the children in the area of Petrovca would be attending.

It seems that there are many recipes for mici. Some use only beef, whereas other use lamb and beef or pork and beef. I chose to use all three because all three meats bring something wonderful to the party, and it is still traditional. The seasonings are all over the board as well. What I chose to use seemed to be what most recipes called for, but some I read called for paprika, or savory, or even cinnamon. The one thing that all mici recipes have in common is lots of garlic! I can say, “Amen,” to that!

If you want to try your hand at making mici, here is a link to the recipe:

Mici (Romanian Sausage)

IMG_2031
Mici, Cucumber and Tomato Salad and Jalapeno Mustard for lunch today!
Leave a Reply

