And Now For The Bad News…

Hopefully you can tell from previous posts that I am a foodie. If not, well… I guess I better take a few more writing classes. Being a foodie has the disadvantage of gaining some extra weight, especially as you age and become less active. I decided to start a diet program from Evolv Health. They call it the Reboot kit, which is supposed to deal with the way your body processes food. It isn’t so much calories in / calories out as it is a hormonal problem caused by too much sugar and simple carbohydrates in the diet. This causes a problem either in the production of, or the effectiveness of a hormone called leptin. I found this article helpful: Leptin and Leptin Resistance.

Just to let you all know, I do not sell these products, nor do I recommend people to the program. I don’t need the free product. I say that, in order to more believably say what I want to say about the program and products.

I started this journey (the grumpy old man in me hates that use of the word in this situation!) just over two weeks ago. I’ve been struggling to lose weight for years. I thought I had found the answer a few years back when I dropped from 270 lbs. to 209 lbs. in the course of a summer. I started logging my food intake and I had become much more active due to putting in a rather large garden. I also started going to the YMCA three days a week. I went from a size 44 waist to a size 38. Then I hurt my back and shoulders. I started to get terrible headaches from my neck. Physical therapy wasn’t helping much. I stopped exercising because it just hurt too much. I very quickly packed on 30 pounds.

Physical therapy may not have been much help, but I am going to a chiropractor that has helped me greatly! No more headaches! And the best thing is that I can take off my socks while standing up. I used to fall over if I tried that. It hurt too bad to bend like that! I know, sad. The point is that I am able to exercise again. I try to hit 10,000 steps a day and go to the YMCA three times a week as well as working with  student fitness trainer. Yeah. Starting to feel good!

Then I started the reboot. I am a foodie. I don’t love food. I lurve food. I obsess over food. I dream about it, and I love making it for others. Suddenly I was depriving myself of the foods I love. Here’s the regimen for the first two weeks. One Evolvlimitless Beet extract capsule on an empty stomach (Like they actually had to say that? It was always empty!). One Evolvimmune supplement, with one Evolvlifebar (pomegranate or chocolate) with 16 ounces of water. A mid morning snack of some cashews, or a hard boiled egg, or maybe a half avocado. There is a list of allowed and disallowed foods/snacks, but no actual guidance on caloric size of the snacks. Lunch was another lifebar and 2 cups of water. In the afternoon you have another snack composed of whatever prescribed food floats your boat, and an Evolvfix “Natural energy support & stress management” drink. This was my personal favorite besides the limitless capsule (not delicious like the drink, but very effective). Supper is a sensible meal of the prescribed foods. Proteins are big in this meal, either vegetable protein, or delicious, delicious meat! Vegetables are also well represented in this meal, but the things that are utterly missing are sugars, grains and starches. Last thing at night another limitless capsule.

I’m not sure how anyone can enjoy life without sugars, grains and starches, but this program does not allow them. You think you can enjoy honey or monk fruit extract? Nope. The sugars you get from their products and the snacks and meals you have is enough. And here is the result: in the first two weeks I lost about 15 pounds, including Easter meal. I managed (just barely) not to cheat over Easter. Better, in my mind, was the feeling of health I had as opposed to just the loss of weight. I seriously felt better than I had in year! I wasn’t an old, bloated, gassy, miserable man. Sadly, I was still an old man, but at least I got rid of a few adjectives, right? Take the wins where you can!

Now that I’ve started the second phase of the 28 day reboot, I am becoming worried. I’m on day two of this which is called the “Impact Phase.” My days go like this now: Limitless capsule, Evolvshake mixed with milk or water (vanilla or chocolate) {I love these!}, Immune capsule. Snack from list. Lunch is a healthy meal from foods list. Afternoon snack of lifebar and fix. Dinner Immune capsule, and a healthy meal. Finally a limitless capsule. But this phase allows you to have vacation meals! I can eat what I want to. Anything! Just have to not be a total pig and suck down 4000 calories or so. Tips from people who have gone through this program say to eat both vacation meals in one day. don’t spread it out because you’re going to feel like crap. Guess what? You do feel like crap after the vacation meals. In my case meal, because I felt so horrid, I couldn’t face another meal. I’m back to being an old, bloated, gassy, miserable man. My insides feel tender and inflamed. I don’t think this is my imagination either.

Tomorrow I don’t have vacation meals! I hope I can just be an old man again. I liked feeling good. But that leaves me with a question. Could I be gluten intolerant? Maybe I have IBSD, and am violently reacting to FODMAPS. “FODMAPs are a collection of short chain carbohydrates and sugar alcohols found in foods naturally or as food additives. FODMAPs include fructose (when in excess of glucose), fructans, galacto-oligosaccharides (GOS), lactose and polyols (eg. sorbitol and mannitol).” I don’t know what the problem is, but after feeling so good, do I really want to feel bloated and gassy all the time? I can’t imagine giving up bread unless it was killing me (violently and immediately). At least the list of FODMAP friendly foods isn’t too bad, but no onions or garlic? Yeah. Good luck there.

I guess I’ll just have to wait and see what happens.

Oh! I nearly forgot to mention a very important part of the Evolvhealth philosophy. When you buy one, you nourish two. I don’t fully understand how this works, but basically, when you buy their products, they donate food to people in impoverished countries.  If I enjoyed selling product, I could get behind that. But I don’t have to sell. The person that introduced me to this line of products is just as happy selling product to me as he would be if I joined the team under him.

Do I recommend these products? The jury is out, but I suspect that I will keep using these products in some form or another. They aren’t cheap, but they certainly seem to be very effective. If you want to try it, that’s on you. Google them and contact them to find a representative near you. As with any diet, you should see you doctor, but they’ll probably laugh and tell you to not bother doing it. Mine did.

Leave a Reply

